Messaging FAQ for Families

This article will cover the following questions:

  • How can I send a message to my student's teacher?
  • How can I delete a message I accidentally sent to the teacher?
  • I can't see my messages; what is wrong?
  • How do I download my message history?
  • How can I translate my messages?
  • How do Read Receipts and Urgent Messaging work?
  • How can I block someone from messaging me?

How can I send a message to my student's teacher?

To send or reply to a teacher's message, please log into the ClassDojo app for iOS or Android or log into the ClassDojo website. From there, log into your account by using your login email address and password. Once in your account, click on the Messages tab, then your teacher's name. Use the blank compose box at the bottom of the screen to write your message and click "Send" to send the message to your teacher.

Teachers and families can now also create group message threads with multiple parents and co-teachers to keep everyone in sync. Messages will be seen by everyone in the thread.  Parents can start a thread with any co-parent and teachers connected to their student's class.

 

How can I delete a message I accidentally sent to the teacher?

At this time, parent messages cannot be deleted by parents or teachers. Even unintentional or inappropriate messages are considered part of a student's Educational Record under FERPA and cannot be deleted without explicit documented permission from a verified School Leader (i.e., a Principal or Vice-Principal). If a message needs to be deleted, please have a School Leader reach out to us at privacy@classdojo.com.

 

I can't see my messages, what is wrong?

You might accidentally be in your student's account instead of your parent account. You can reference this tutorial on how to toggle between accounts if needed: How to Toggle Between Your Parent and Student Accounts. If that is not the case, please write to us at parents@classdojo.com, and we would be happy to assist! 

 

How do I download my message history?

Your message history with any teacher you have been connected with can be downloaded via the ClassDojo website. Here's more on this: Download and Print Message History

 

How can I translate my messages?

When you have set your account's language setting to a different language than your teacher, you will be able to translate story posts and messages into your preferred language. The first thing you need to do is make sure you have set your preferred language. You can do this on the ClassDojo website or on the iOS app. Here's a great tutorial on how to do this: Change Your Parent Account's Language

 

How do Read Receipts and Urgent Messaging work?

Families want to be sure their most important messages get to teachers. With the optional ClassDojo Plus subscription, families have access to Read Receipts and Urgent Messages. You can learn more about these ClassDojo Plus premium features here: How do Read Receipts and Urgent Messaging work?

Families who do not subscribe to ClassDojo Plus still have the option to toggle on Read Receipts for message threads with other families. This feature is only available for families that are connected to a school that has opted-in to use the Family Messaging feature. Here's how to turn your Read Receipts on or off:

  • On your iOS device or Android
    • Go to your account settings
    • Click "Messaging"
    • Toggle "Read status" green for on

Please note: If you turn off read status, you won’t be able to see read receipts from other people. Or if the other person has their read status turned off, you will not be able to see their read status as well. 

Screenshot 2023-11-02 at 5.26.34 PM.png

 

How can I block someone from messaging me?

Teachers and parents can block other users from messaging them or receiving their messages. To do this, you first need to have a message sent to your account by that user. Once the message has been sent, you will want to click on the profile icon in the upper right corner of the messaging thread, click on the small dot menu next to the user's name, and click "block." If you wish to unblock a user, you can follow the same steps and click "unblock." Learn more about blocking users in messaging here

 

Have more questions? Submit a request
Powered by Zendesk