Follow

How Do I Enable My Webcam for Student Mode?

Using student mode on Chromebooks or other computers requires you to grant your browser access to your computer's webcam.  If you've accidentally blocked access to the webcam, don't worry - it's easy to reenable access.  Follow the instructions for your browser below.

On Chrome:

Granting access to the camera:

  1. When you visit https://studentmode.classdojo.com, a tooltip should appear in the top-left of your screen asking to use your camera. Click "Allow." 

If you hit block by mistake:

  1. At the right side of the address bar, click on the small icon that looks like a camera. 
  2. Click the option to "Always allow" 
  3. Refresh the page.

If you don't see the icon mentioned above, or those instructions don't work:

  1. At the top-right of the screen, click the three-dot menu and choose "Settings."
  2. Click "Show advanced settings".
  3. In the "Privacy" section, click "Content settings".
  4. Scroll down until you see the "Camera" section
  5. Click "Manage exceptions"
  6. Click the "X" next to "studentmode.classdojo.com:443" to remove it from the list.
  7. Refresh the page.
  8. You will be asked for permission again - please click "Allow"

On Microsoft Edge:

Granting access to the camera:

  1. When you visit studentmode.classdojo.com, a tooltip should appear at the bottom of your screen asking to use your webcam.  Click "Yes".
  2. You will need to repeat this process every time you open the site.

If you accidentally close the tooltip:

  1. Refresh your page.
  2. You will be asked for permission again - please click "Yes"

On Firefox:

Granting access to the camera:

  1. When you visit studentmode.classdojo.com, a tooltip should appear in the top-left of your screen asking to use your camera. 
  2. There should be a button that says "Share Selected Device".  Click the arrow next to this button, and select "Always Share". 

If you accidentally close the tooltip or click "Don't share":

  1. Refresh your page.
  2. You will be asked for permission again.
  3. There should be a button that says "Share Selected Device".  Click the arrow next to this button, and select "Always Share".

If you accidentally click "Never share":

  1. To the left of the address bar, click on the icon with either the letter "i" in a circle or a green lock.
  2. Under "Permissions", there should be an item labeled "Use the camera".  Click the menu that says "Block", and change this to say "Allow".  
  3. Refresh your page.

On Safari:

Unfortunately, student mode does not support the Safari browser.  Please install Google Chrome, Firefox, or Microsoft Edge.

On Internet Explorer:

Unfortunately, student mode does not support the Internet Explorer browser.  Please install Google Chrome, Firefox, or Microsoft Edge.

 

 

 

Was this article helpful?
1 out of 1 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments

Powered by Zendesk